James Beard Foundation Names 2014 Leadership Award Recipients

Congrats, all.
Congrats, all. Photo: James Beard Foundation

For its fourth annual Leadership Awards, which is co-hosted by Good Housekeeping, the James Beard Foundation chose five food writers and food activists. They include New York Times writer and cookbook author Mark Bittman, professor and author Michael Pollan, activist and urban farmer Karen Washington, activist and Movement Strategy Center fellow Navina Khanna, and Mississippi-based farming advocate Ben Burkett.

The group will be honored at a ceremony and dinner in October, and they join the ranks of previous honorees Wendell Berry, Marion Nestle, and Alice Waters. “These five innovators are shedding light on the important issues that our food system faces, particularly the complex realms of sustainability, food access, and public health,” the nonprofit’s president Susan Ungaro said in a statement. “Whether it is through education and advocacy of family and urban farms; working with youth to inspire community involvement; or using the written word as powerful tool, all are profoundly influential in creating a healthier, safer, and more sustainable food world.”

2014 Leadership Award Recipients [Official site]

James Beard Foundation Names 2014 Leadership Award Recipients