Association of Food Journalists’ Writing Competition Announces Winners

Congrats — and enjoy the celebratory meals.
Congrats — and enjoy the celebratory meals.

The Association of Food Journalists announced the 53 winners of its annual competition, and they include the San Francisco Chronicle (Best Newspaper Food Coverage), Drew Lazor (Best Newspaper Food Feature for “Acts of Will“), and Sauce Magazine’s Kellie Hynes (Best Food Column). Check out the full list, straight ahead.

Best Newspaper Food Coverage (above 200,000 circulation)
First: The San Francisco Chronicle, Miriam Morgan, Food Editor
Second: The Boston Globe, Sheryl Julian, Food Editor
Third: The Washington Post, Joe Yonan, Food Editor and Bonnie Benwick, Deputy Editor
Third: Philadelphia Daily News, Laurie T. Conrad, Food Editor

Best Newspaper Food Coverage (below 200,000 circulation)
First: San Antonio Express-News, Karen Haram, Food Editor
Second: Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, Bob Batz Jr., Food Editor
Third: The Advocate, Baton Rouge, L.A., Cheramie Sonnier, Food Editor

Best Newspaper Special Food Project
First: The Kansas City Star, “Edge City,” Jill Silva, Food Editor
First: Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, “This Is Pittsburgh Food,” Bob Batz Jr., Food Editor
Second: Steve Hoffman, Minneapolis Star Tribune, “Letters from France”
Second: Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, “On Our Plate,” Nancy Stohs, Food Editor
Third: Minneapolis Star Tribune, “Taste 50,” Lee Dean, Food Editor

Best Newspaper Food Feature (above 220,000 circulation)
First: Andrea Adleman, The Washington Post, “The Psychology of Cupcakes”
Second: Katy McLaughlin, The Wall Street Journal, “Get Your Goat On”
Third: Greg Morago, the Houston Chronicle, “Barbecue Nerds”

Best Newspaper Food Feature (125,000-220,000 circulation)
First: Cindy Hoedel, the Kansas City Star, “Rabbit Revival”
Second: The late Jackie Loohauis-Bennett, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, “Creating More Than a Stir”
Third: Jill Silva, the Kansas City Star, “Growing Change”

Best Newspaper Food Feature (below 125,000 circulation)
First: Drew Lazor, Philadelphia City Paper, “Acts of Will”
Second: Stacy Schultz, Sauce Magazine, “A Second Shot”
Third: Katharine Shilcutt, Houston Press, “Chef Endures Cancer, Loss of Sense and Taste”

Best Non-Newspaper Food Feature
First: Todd Kliman, Washingtonian, “Everywhere at Once”
Second: Nadia Arumugam, The Atlantic, “Expired”
Third: Chad Robertson, Food Arts, “Baker in the Rye

Best Restaurant Criticism
First: Laura Reiley, Tampa Bay Times
Second: Tejal Rao, Village Voice
Third: Bobby Ampezzan, Democrat-Gazette
Third: Ian Froeb, RiverfrontTimes

Best Food Visual
First: James Nielsen, the Houston Chronicle, “The Great State of Barbecue”
Second: Joaquin Herrera, the San Antonio Express-News, “S.A. Food Savvy?”
Second: Richard Stokes, Reno Magazine, “Savor Summer”
Third: Francisco Kjolseth, Salt Lake Tribune, “Winged Salute to July 4”

Best Food Essay
First: Marge Perry, Newsday, “Cupcakes That Say Love”
Second: Darra Goldstein, The Wall Street Journal, “A Bribe-Worthy Chicken Dish”
Third: Todd Kliman, Washingtonian, “Champagne & Sippy Cups”

Best Writing on Beer, Wine and/or Spirits
First: Wendy Goldman Rohm, Playboy, “The Talented Mr. K”
Second: Jason Wilson,, “When Wine Talk Gets Weird”
Third: Jon Bonne, San Francisco Chronicle, “Restoring a Napa Legend”

Best Story on Food Policy or Food Issues
First: Andy Mannix and Mike Mullen, City Pages, “Milk Money”
Second: Hanna Raskin, Seattle Weekly, “Peaches and Dreams”
Third: Carolyn Jung, Food Arts, “Foie and Its Discontents”

Best Food Column
First: Kellie Hynes, Sauce Magazine
Second: Martha J. Miller, EthnoTraveler Magazine
Third: Hanna Raskin and Dan Person, Seattle Weekly

Best Food Blog, Multiple Writers
First: The Salt, NPR
Second: Inside Scoop, San Francisco Chronicle
Third: Phoenix New Times

Best Food Multimedia Presentation
First: Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, Gretchen McKay and Steve Mellon
Second: Feast magazine, Hannah Radcliff
Third: Indy Week, D.L. Anderson and Victoria Bouloubasis

Best Student Writing on Food
First: Shelby Vittek, Drexel University writing for, “My Endangered Dinner”
Second: Shelby Vittek, Drexel University writing for, “Old Nordic”
Third: Stephanie Parker, University of Montana writing for the Kaimin, “Investing in a Little Produce”


Association of Food Journalists’ Writing Competition Announces Winners