Read, Listen To and Watch Chicago’s Beard Journalism Nominees

Steve Dolinsky raises a glass to lucky 13.
Steve Dolinsky raises a glass to lucky 13. Photo: courtesy Steve Dolinsky

Yesterday, as we were preparing to liveblog the Chicago contingent in the James Beard Foundation Awards, we expressed the opinion that it might not be such a great year for Chicago nominees on the media side. As it turned out, there were six Chicago media nominations— if not a record at least a more than healthy number, enough that they came too fast for us to link to the nominated work as we blogged. (And that’s not counting ex-Chicagoan Ted Allen, who nabbed two nominations for Chopped.) We’re fixing that now by linking to the nominated work for each of the six Chicago nominees, so you can go check out the excellent work being done all over the media spectrum by Chicago journalists.

Food-Related Columns
Kevin Pang of the Chicago Tribune, a past winner for The Cheeseburger Show, was nominated for three submitted pieces: “Hole in My Heart,” “Wisconsin Supper Clubs,” and “So Sue Me.”

Health and Well-Being
Janet Rausa Fuller, then of the Chicago Sun-Times, was nominated for “Starting From Scratch.”

Radio Show/Audio Webcast
WBEZ nabbed two of the three nominations in this category. Host Nina Barrett and producer Carrie Shepherd were nominated for Fear of Frying: Culinary Nightmares; the six parts of the series can be found and listened to from here.

Host Jerome McDonnell of Worldview and producers Alexandra Salomon and Joe Linstroth were also nominated for From Bread Lines to Revolution: The Role of Food in the Arab Uprisings, which can be heard here.

Television Segment
Steve Dolinsky, a 12-time past winner, earned another nomination along with producer Badriyyah Waheed for The Hungry Hound on ABC 7. The submitted pieces were about Next, The Aviary and Hing Kee.

Special/Documentary (Television or Video Webcast)
As Sky Full of Bacon, we were nominated for “A Barbecue History of Chicago.”

Read, Listen To and Watch Chicago’s Beard Journalism Nominees