Oh, those crazy religious laws. Judaism has traditionally been divided into two main cultural traditions: Ashkenazic (Central and Eastern European) and Sephardic (Spanish, North African and Middle Eastern). Both celebrate holidays slightly differently. During Passover, Sephardic Jews are allowed to consume kitniyot (legumes, corn and rice) while Ashkenazic Jews are not. This is based in an ancient Ashkenazic rabbinical ruling that, as our secular selves understand it, meant that legumes had to be avoided in Eastern Europe during passover for fear they would be contaminated with wheat (which is forbidden in non-matzoh form during Passover). Now, a new rabbinical ruling was made that Ashkenazic Jews living in Israel would be allowed to eat the previously-forbidden grains. But, of course, when religious traditions are altered, people get a wee bit upset. Enter the new, tongue-strictly-in-cheek Kitniyos Defense League and the Kitniyot Liberation Front. And you thought that Lent was complicated.
Kitniyot Defensse League [Jewlicious]