Olive Garden Critic Marilyn Hagerty Wins Excellence in Media Award

Hagerty. Photo: courtesy Grand Forks Herald

Marilyn Hagerty, the grande dame of Grand Forks, North Dakota, will be presented with the 2012 Al Neuharth Excellence in Media Award on October 4. Previous recipients of the award — named for the founder of USA Today — include Walter Cronkite, Tom Brokaw, Garrison Keillor, and Katie Couric. Interesting tidbit: Hagerty edited Neuharth when they worked together at the University of South Dakota’s student paper in the forties. [Romenesko, Earlier]