Congrats to IACP and Time Out Award Winners

Work hard, play hard.

Work hard, play hard.Photo: IACP

While Dana Cowin's "Best New Chefs" are almost — accidentally — out of the bag, other chefs, food writers, and industry somebodies are already luxuriating in awards and mimosas after last night's double whammy of festivities, including the IACP Awards and the Time Out Awards. And the winners — among them, this week's New York Diet subject — are ...

Time Out winners:

Readers’ Choice:
Chef of the Year: Seamus Mullen (Tertulia)
Best New Restaurant: The Dutch
Best New Cocktails: Maison Premiere
Best New Neighborhood Joint: Red Rooster Harlem (Harlem)
Best Spin-off: Parm
Best New Pizza: Forcella
Best International Eats: Miss Lily’s (Jamaica)
Best Out-of-Town Import: Fleisher's Grass-Fed & Organic Meats (Kingston, NY)
Best New Bakery: Dominique Ansel Bakery
Best New Beer Bar: La Birreria
Foursquare Award: The Dutch

Critics’ Picks
Best Culinary Blitzkrieg: Acme
Best Countermove to Comfort Food: Boulud Sud
Best New Gallic Charmer: Buvette
The Instant Classic Award: Il Buco Alimentari & Vineria
The Watch The Throne Award: The Monkey Bar
Best Pint-Size Powerhouse: Earl’s Beer and Cheese
Artisan of the Year: New York Distilling Co./ The Shanty
Best Dim Sum Provocateur: RedFarm
Best Love Letter to the Philippines: Maharlika Filipino Moderno
The Intergalactic Kitten Award: Isa

IACP winners:

Cookbook Awards
· Cookbook of the Year: “Tasting India” (Author: Christine Manfield; Editor: Allison Cowin; Publisher: Penguin Group Australia)
· People’s Choice: “Art of Pasta” (Cookbook), Shiksa in the Kitchen, Tori Avery (Blog)
· American: “The Apple Lover’s Cookbook” (Author: Amy Traverso; Editor: Maria Guarnaschelli; Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company, Inc.)
· Baking: “Baking Style: Art Craft Recipes” (Author: Lisa Yockelson; Editor: Pamela Chirls; Publisher: John Wiley & Sons, Inc.)
· Chefs and Restaurants: “The Blue Tomato: The Inspirations Behind the Cuisine of Alan Wong” (Author: Alan Wong; Publisher: Watermark Publishing)
· Children, Youth, and Family: “My Family Table” (Author: John Besh; Editor: Jean Lucas; Publisher: Andrews McMeel)
· Compilations: “The Cakebread Cellars American Harvest Cookbook” (Authors: Jack & Dolores Cakebread, Brian Streeter, Janet Fletcher; Publisher: Ten Speed Press)
· Culinary History: “High on the Hog” (Author: Jessica Harris; Editor: Kathy Belden; Publisher: Bloosmbury USA)
· Culinary Travel: “Tasting India” (Author: Christine Manfield; Editor: Alison Cowan; Publisher: Penguin Group Australia)
· The Design Award and Professional Kitchens: “Modernist Cuisine” (Authors: Nathan Myhrvold, Chris Young, Maxime Billet; Publisher: The Cooking Lab)
· First Book - The Julia Child Award: “Ancient Grains for Modern Meals” (Author: Maria Speck; Editors: Jenny Wapner & Dawn Yanagihara; Publisher: Ten Speed Press);
· Food and Beverage Reference/Technical: “Ruhlman’s Twenty” (Author: Michael Ruhlman; Editors: Bill LeBlond and Sarah Billingsley; Publisher: Chronicle Books)
· Food Matters: “Tomatoland” (Author: Barry Estabrook; Editor: Chris Schillig; Publisher: Andrews McMeel)
· Food Photography and Styling: “The Art of Pasta” (Author: Lucio Galletto; Editor: Alison Cowan; Publisher: Penguin Group Australia)
· General: “All About Roasting” (Author: Molly Stevens; Editor: Maria Guarnaschelli; Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company, Inc.)
· Health and Special Diet: “Ancient Grains for Modern Meals” (Author: Maria Speck; Editors: Jenny Wapner & Dawn Yanagihara; Publisher: Ten Speed Press)
· International: “The Food of Spain” (Author: Claudia Roden; Editor: Libby Edelson; Publisher: HarperCollins/Ecco)
· The Jane Grigson Award: “Tomatoland” (Author: Barry Estabrook; Editor: Chris Schillig; Publisher: Andrews McMeel, “Inside the Jewish Bakery” (Authors: Stanley Ginsberg and Norman Berg; Publisher: Camino Books)
· Literary Food Writing: “The Table Comes First” (Author: Adam Gopnik; Publisher: Knopf)
· Single Subject: “All About Roasting” (Author: Molly Stevens; Editor: Maria Guarnaschelli; Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company, Inc.)
· The Visionary Achievement Awards: “Modernist Cuisine” (Authors: Nathan Myhrvold, Chris Young, Maxime Billet; Publisher: The Cooking Lab)
· Wine, Beer, or Spirits: “Bitters: A Spirited History of a Classic Cure-All, with Cocktails, Recipes…” (Author: Brad Thomas Parsons; Editor: Emily Timberlake; Publisher: Ten Speed Press)

New Media & Broadcast Awards
· Televised Culinary Series: “Essential Pepin” (Host: Jacques Pepin, KQED-TV)
· Culinary Blog: 5 Second Rule (Cheryl Sternman Rule)
· Culinary Website:
· Culinary Product or Brand Website: Gilt Taste
· Intriguing Use of New Technology: SFA Stories, Southern Foodways Alliance (Device app that puts oral histories into geographical context)
· Video Series (Short Program Format): Saveur’s “Sandwich Stories”
· Audio Series (Long Format): KCRW’s Good Food with Evan Kleiman
· Audio Series (Short Format): Southern Foodways Oral History: Gathering the Stories Behind Food
· Humorous Video Short: “Spaghetti with 100 Sweet Tomatoes” (The Recipe Project)

Bert Greene Awards
· Culinary Writing With or Without Recipes: “The Cake That Makes Our Family” (Lila Byock, Gilt Taste)
· Culinary Writing About Beverages: “Beer Wars” (Kevin Cook, Playboy)
· Instructional Culinary Writing with Recipes: “Eat Shoots & Leaves” (a series by Raquel Pelzel, Amanda Cohen, Aki Kamozawa & Alex Talbot, Adam Erace, Sheri Castle; Gilt Taste)
· Culinary Travel Writing or Memoirs and Personal Essays: “Sibling Rivalry at the Stove” (Tamar Adler, Gilt Taste)
· Culinary Writing That Makes a Difference: “Is This the Food of the Future?” (John McQuaid, Eating Well)

Awards of Excellence
· Cooking Teacher of the Year: Candy Argonedizza
· Consumer Educational and Communication Materials of the Year: The Beef Checkoff
· Corporate Marketing Campaign of the Year: Darigold
· Culinary Tour Operator of the Year: George Geary, CCP
· Culinary Youth Advocate of the Year: Purple Asparagus
· Entrepreneur or Business Person of the Year: Lia Huber
· Food Photographer or Stylist of the Year: Todd Coleman for Saveur
· Test Kitchen Professional of the Year: BJ Food Consulting
· Vocational Cooking School of the Year: International Culinary Center
· Wine Steward or Sommelier of the Year: International Culinary School at Illinois Institute of Art Chicago

Special Recognition

· Humanitarian: Ann Cooper, Lunch Lessons, LLC
· Lifetime Achievement: Fedele Bauccio, CEO and Cofounder of Bon Appetit Management Company
· Community Service: Bob Lewis and Barry Benepe, founders of NYC Greenmarket

Culinary Classics Book Awards
· “La Technique: An Illustrated Guide to the Fundamental Technique of Cooking,” Jacques Pepin (Times Books/PocketBooks, 1978)
· “The Cake Bible,” Rose Levy Berenbaum (William Morrow, 1988)
· “The American Heritage Cookbook and Illustrated History of American Eating and Drinking” (American Heritage Publishing Company/Simon & Schuster, 1964)
· “Simple French Food,” Richard Olney (Atheneum, 1974)
· “The New York Times Cookbook,” Craig Claiborne (Harper, 1961)
· “James Beard’s American Cookery,” James Beard (Little Brown and Company, 1972)
· “The Art of Eating” by M.F.K.Fisher (World Publishing Company/ Macmillan, 1954)
· “Paul Prudhomme’s Louisiana Kitchen,” Paul Prudhomme (William Morrow, 1984)
· “The Taste of Country Cooking,” Edna Lewis (Knopf, 1976)
· “The Silver Palate Cookbook,” Julee Rosso and Sheila Lukins (Workman Publishing, 1982)

IACP Announces 2012 Food Writing Award Winners [Eater]
Earlier: Dana Cowin Scoops Her Own 'Best New Chefs' Announcement


Recent News

NY Mag