Who Will Be At Artisanal L.A.?

By

By the time Artisanal L.A. arrives on October 23rd and 24th, your hangover from Jonathan Gold’s Speakeasy event should be long gone. Instead of cocktails and tastings from first-rate local restaurants, Sauce L.A. is putting together a weekend packed with passionate local food producers, chef demos, and expert panels. Underground superstars like Chicks With Knives, locavore devotees like Napa Valley Grille’s Joseph Gillard, and culinary states-people like Evan Kleiman will round out dozens upon dozens of independent food artisans selling their wares, from bakers, brewers, backyard gardeners, and butchers to produce suppliers, sweets makers, and oil and vinegar experts. Ten-dollar advance tickets can be purchased online or can be bought for fifteen dollars on the day of the show. A sneak-preview list of events, vendors, and freebies is included below for your early perusing, along with day-of-the-event details and a schedule of panels and demos.

Artisanal L.A.
October 23rd and 24th
The Cooper Building
860 S. Los Angeles St.
11th Floor Penthouse
Downtown, L.A. 90014

$10 advance admission, $15 at the door


Entrance Fee includes:

• Hosted beverages like Honest Tea, Dry Soda, Function and Bonadea
• Local craft beer and spirits tasting (21+)
• A one-of-a-kind tote bag for the first 1000 attendees
• Workshops and cool handmade activities
• Family friendly arts & crafts
• Great speakers and chef demos
• Giveaways and door prizes all weekend long
• Unlimited re-entry all weekend long
• DJ Bryan Davidson setting the mood
• Pitchfork’s Mud Baron giving out seedlings to inspire everyone’s inner urban farmer
• Shopping from more than 65 local craft vendors - with more being added every day
• Gift wrap hosted by Uncouth Gourmand benefiting the LA Regional Food Bank to help kick off holiday shopping
• Partial proceeds benefit LAUSD Edible School Gardens

Vendors Include:

Baked Goods
Alice’s Stick Cookies www.alicesstickcookies.com
All Jarred Up www.alljarredup.etsy.com
Bakelab www.thebakelab.com
Baking Betty’s www.bakingbettys.com
Black Market Bakery www.blackmarketbakery.com
Cake Monkey Bakery www.cakemonkey.com
Cookie Casa www.cookiecasa.com
Flying Pie Man (no site available)
Gotta Have S’more www.GottaHavesmore.com
I Heart Pies www.iheartpies.com
Isabella’s Cookie Company www.isabellascookies.com
Marcie’s Pies www.jimenezfamilyfarm.com
My Delight Cupcakery www.mydelightcupcakery.com
Sweet Détente www.sweetdetente.com
Sweet Dreamery Desserts www.sweetdreamerydesserts.com
Tartist www.tartist.la
The Wilde Thistle www.wildethistle.com
Vici Victual www.twitter.com/vicivictual

Beverages
Bonadea Drinks www.bonadeadrinks.com

Fresh Food Café
The Oaks Gourmet theoaksgourmet.com

Chocolate/Confections
Beachy Cream: Malibu’s Natural Ice Cream www.beachycream.com
Butterfly Brittle www.butterflybrittle.com
Calabasas Candy Co. www.calabasascandyco.etsy.com
ChocoVivo www.chocovivo.com
Compartes Chocolates www.compartes.com/
Morning Glory Confections www.morninggloryconfections.com
Ococoa www.ococoa.com/
P.O.P. Candy www.gopopcandy.com
Plush Puffs www.plushpuffs.com
Scoops www.twitter.com/scoopswestside

Coffee & Tea
Café de Leche www.cafedeleche.net
Sugarbird Sweets & Tea www.sugarbirdsweets.com

Garden

Winnetka Farms www.winnetkafarms.com
Woolly Pockets www.woollypocket.com
Silverlake Farms www.silverlakefarms.com

Kitchen Apparel & Accessories
Collision Ware www.collisionware.com
Common Thread Studio www.commonthreadstudio.com
Miss Fruitfly http://missfruitfly.com

Meat, Sausage & Dairy
Lindy & Grundy’s lindyandgrundy.com
Cast Iron Gourmet www.castirongourmet-la.com
Villebois Kitchen www.villeboiskitchen.com

Non-Profit
Mud Baron www.mudbaron.com
Slow Food Los Angeles www.slowfoodla.com

Oil, Vinegar, Pantry

Akasha Restaurant, Bar & Bakery www.akasharestaurant.com
All Spice Café www.allspicecafe.com
Backwards Bee Keepers www.backwardsbeekeepers.com
Chicks With Knives’ Perishable Pickle Shop www.perishablepickle.com
Domenico’s Foods www.domenicosfoods.com
Global Gardens http://www.globalgardensonline.com
Jammies Jams www.jammiesjams.com
Jenkins Jellies www.jenkinsjellies.com
Lemon Bird Handmade Jams www.lemonbirddesign.com
Marche Noir www.marchenoirfoods.com
Mozambique Spices www.mozambiqueoc.com
San Angel Mole www.sanangelmole.com
Sauce Goddess Gourmet www.saucegoddess.com
SoNo Trading Company www.sonotrading.com
That’s A Nice www.thatsanice.com
The Olive Press www.theolivepress.com
The Unforgettables www.unforgettablefoods.com

Produce
Farm Fresh To You www.farmfreshtoyou.com
Farmscape Gardens www.farmscapegardens.com

Beer & Spirits
Eagle Rock Brewery www.eaglerockbrewery.com
Tru Organic Spirits www.greenbar.biz

Vegan
Rawk - N - Roll www.RawknRollCuisine.com

New vendors are still being added.

Schedule: Saturday, October 23rd

12p: Chef Jonathan Rollo, Greenleaf Gourmet Chop Shop
Using Local and Seasonal Produce (Demo)

1p: Woolly Pockets
Simple One Container Kitchen Herb Gardens (Workshop)

1p: Backward Bee Collective
Local Beekeeping w/Backward Beekeepers incl Feral Bee (Panel)

2p: Chef James Overbaugh, The Peninsula Hotel
Growing and Cooking with Artisanal Pumpkins (Demo)

3p: Christopher Klapp & Chef Ben Bailly, Petrossian Caviar
Sustainable Caviar (Demo and Tasting)

4p: Lindy & Grundy, Heritage Meats and Home Butchering
w/ Marissa Guggianna, Author of Primal Cuts (Demo, Tasting, Raffle)

5p: Laura McIntosh, Host “Bringing It Home”
The Difference Between Sustainable & Organic: What’s More Important?

All Day: Common Thread Studio
Hand Sewn Egg Cozies (Workshop 12-2p & 3-5p )

All Day: Pumpkin Crafts for Kids (Craft)

Schedule: Sunday, October 24th

12p: Chef Joseph Gillard, Napa Valley Grille
Biodynamic Wine Pairings (Demo and Tasting)

1p: Geri Miller, Mar’Sel
Garden Cocktail Infusions (Demo and Tasting)

1p: Sarah Spitz & Julie Strnad, LA County Master Gardeners
Urban Container Gardening: Anything That Grows in the Ground, Grows in a Pot (Workshop)

2p: Suzanne Griswold & Rachael Narins, Chicks with Knives’
Perishable Pickle Shop: Pickling 101 (Demo and Tasting)

3p: Craft Beer Panel
Eagle Rock Brewery & Local LA Brewers TBA
Moderated by The Beer Chicks (Panel and Tasting)

4p: Lindy & Grundy, Heritage Meats and Home Butchering
(Demo, Tasting, Raffle)

5p: Josh Simon, Function Drinks
Growing a Local Food Biz in LA (Speaker)

All Day: Common Thread Studio
Hand Sewn Egg Cozies (Workshop 12-2p & 2-5p)

All Day: Pumpkin Crafts for Kids (Craft)

New panels are being added, including an appearance from Evan Kleiman

Who Will Be At Artisanal L.A.?